GORUCK in May – I Hope I Make It

I know that it has been a few months since my last post. But I hope that a new fitness challenge will get me back to regular updates.

This week, my brother Dan and I signed up for the GORUCK Heavy, a 24 hour, 40+ mile team adventure race that is several notches above the Tough Mudder intensity.

As if the time and distance weren’t difficult enough, you need to carry a 35lb rucksack for the entire race, not too mention enough food, water and extra sets of dry clothing to keep you going. Check out the recommended packing list.

To ensure that you have the proper conditioning to finish the rest, it is also “recommended” that you run 12 miles with your 35lb rucksack in under three hours.

GORUCK provides a 6 week training plan, but I need to start preparing now if I hope to make it through. The race is on May 22nd in New York (exact location undisclosed) and my goal is to post weekly updates on my training.

If anyone has training suggestions or questions about the race please reach out.

2 Responses to GORUCK in May – I Hope I Make It

  1. Stacy Sussman says:

    I am so proud of both of you. So glad you are starting your training early. You can never do enough training which will certainly help you in the long run. Iwe will be there cheering you on!!!

  2. Pingback: My First Steps Towards GORUCK | Raw Focus

Leave a Reply

